2022 Montreal Canadiens High 25 Below 25: An Introduction

Now it is time to begin Eyes on the prizeThe thirteenth Annual Montreal Canadiens High 25 Below 25!

The collection will deal with the group’s high younger expertise and showcase the talents that may decide who will (or will not) compete for NHL rosters sooner or later and put them among the many Canadians who’re already stars. Any participant born on or after September 15, 1997 who made it again to our 2016 NHL Draft class was eligible. The pool features a complete of 52 gamers, breaking the earlier report of 46 gamers.

One of many gamers we listed was Brett Stapley, whose autograph rights expire as of the date of this text. Nonetheless, there’s a wrinkle within the story as a result of if he makes use of the NCAA’s anti-pandemic guidelines and performs a fifth yr of school hockey, these eligibility shall be prolonged for one more yr.

Stapley has been ranked within the high 25 the previous two seasons and ranked twenty third final yr. He then had 43 factors in 41 video games for the College of Denver in 2021-22. Regardless of these performances, the Canadiens selected to not signal him, one thing that was puzzling when the group signed their very own property to fill the system only a few years in the past.

We count on the choice to go away Staples with no contract provide to proceed as the standard of accessible inventory has reached a degree the place solely one of the best gamers have to be signed.

This yr’s gamers, ranked from oldest to youngest:

Eligible Gamers

Participant DOB Age Pos Obtainable in 2023
Participant DOB Age Pos Obtainable in 2023
Lucas Condotta 1997-11-06 24.8 LW No
Arvid Henrikson 1998-02-23 24.5 RD No***
Michael Pezzetta 1998-03-13 24.4 LW No
Raphael Harvey-Pinard 1999-01-06 23.6 LW Sure
Brett Stapley 1999-02-23 23.5 C Sure*
Nate Schnarr 1999-02-25 23.5 C Sure
Joel Teasdale 1999-03-11 23.4 LW Sure
Nick Suzuki 1999-08-10 23.0 C Sure
Kayden Prayau 1999-08-18 23.0 G Sure
Jack Gorniak 1999-09-15 22.9 LW Sure ***
Jesse Ilonen 1999-10-03 22.9 RW Sure
Matthias Norlinder 2000-04-12 22.3 LD Sure
Cam Hillis 2000-06-24 22.1 C Sure
Jordan Harris 2000-07-07 22.1 LD Sure
Brother Gianni Honest 2000-09-30 21.9 LD Sure
Cole Caufield 2001-01-02 21.6 RW Sure
Kirby roof 2001-01-21 21.6 C Sure
Arber Hekaj 2001-01-30 21.5 LD Sure
Rhett Pitlick 2001-02-07 21.5 LW Sure
Frederick Dychow 2001-03-01 21.5 G Sure**
Xavier Simoneau 2001-05-19 21.2 C Sure**
Jacob Dobes 2001-05-27 21.2 G Sure
Alexander Gross 2001-07-31 21.0 RW Sure
Jayden Struble 2001-09-08 20.9 LD Sure ***
Sean Farrell 2001-11-02 20.8 LW Sure
Justin Barron 2001-11-15 20.7 RD Sure
Emil Heinemann 2001-11-16 20.7 LW Sure
Petteri Nurmi 2002-01-12 20.6 LD Sure
Kaiden Guhle 2002-01-18 20.6 LD Sure
You Smilanik 2002-01-20 20.6 LW Sure
Miguel Turini 2002-02-09 20.5 RD Sure
Luke Contact 2002-03-07 20.4 LW Sure
Blake Biondi 2002-04-24 20.3 C Sure
Jan Mysak 2002-06-24 20.1 C Sure
Jack Smith 2002-07-06 20.1 C Sure
Jared Davidson 2002-07-07 20.1 C Sure
Dmitry Kostenko 2002-09-25 19.9 RD Sure
William Trudeau 2002-10-11 19.8 LD Sure**
Joe Vrbetic 2002-10-24 19.8 G Sure**
Daniel Sobolev 2003-03-03 19.4 RD Sure
Riley Kidney 2003-03-25 19.4 C Sure
Logan Mailu 2003-04-15 19.3 RD Sure**
Oliver Kapanen 2003-07-29 19.0 C Sure
Joshua Roy 2003-08-06 19.0 RW Sure
Adam Engstrom 2003-11-17 18.7 LD Sure
Emmett Croteau 2003-12-07 18.7 G Sure
Philip Mesar 2004-01-03 18.6 RW Sure
Owen Beck 2004-02-03 18.5 C Sure
Lane Hutson 2004-02-14 18.5 LD Sure
Yuri Slafkovsky 2004-03-20 18.4 LW Sure
Cedric Guindon 2004-04-21 18.3 LW Sure
Vincent Rohrer 2004-09-09 17.9 C Sure

Signature interval: * August 15, 2022 | ** June 1, 2023 | *** August 15, 2023

Contract particulars through CapFriendly

To find out the order, the EOTP workers voted individually, and two members of our group had been chosen based mostly on the variety of feedback posted on future weekly posts in the course of the 2021-22 season, together with earlier contributors and the poor. The regulatory tales have been sifted by means of to search out our picks. Becoming a member of our 9 contestants on the voting panel are “black61” and “theptbnl” whose votes had been equally weighted in figuring out the order.

A ultimate vote was taken from the lots of of members who forged ballots. We obtained over 500 responses this time between workers and readers, so we respect the gamers and thank everybody concerned within the undertaking.

Eleven poll papers had been excluded from the pattern. From the remaining gamers, I eliminated ballots with fewer than 25 participant rankings and didn’t take into account those that exceeded their rating on the remaining ballots (eg, somebody who answered “35” ranked 36-52). the size of their checklist).

The outcomes had been 188 partial lists and one other 306 that ranked not less than 50 gamers for a complete of 494 ballots submitted by EOTP. Every participant’s rating was averaged throughout all ballots that ranked that participant, and these averages had been ranked from lowest to highest to type a public vote. Lucas Condotta was added to the poll after a number of submissions, and his common was based mostly on solely 197 scores, however it was deemed a enough pattern to precisely symbolize the vote.

The identical process for averaging the outcomes was used to find out the 2022 order from a complete of 12 ballots.

If you have not saved your checklist and wish to observe gamers as they change into out there, request them within the feedback part and they are going to be despatched to the e-mail deal with related along with your EOTP profile.

Earlier than we begin counting down the gamers on this yr’s collection, we’ll look again on the historical past of the gamers who went undrafted, in addition to how they went from 41 in 2021 to 52 this yr.

About the author


Leave a Comment